Got a question?

Check our frequently asked questions below. If you still don't have an answer, email

The Microlise Driver of the Year Awards aim to recognise the UK’s most talented HGV drivers – acknowledging the vital work they do and the professionalism with which they carry out their work. The awards were developed in cooperation with the vital support of The University of Nottingham, with a team at the Advanced Data Analytics Centre providing impartial analysis of telematics data. A judging panel also support the awards, reviewing entries to produce a shortlist and final winner across each award category.

Download our Information Pack to learn more.

The awards fall into two groups:

Awards based purely on telematics data:

  • Short Distance
  • Medium Distance
  • Long Distance
  • Driver Excellence

Awards requiring nomination:

  • Young Driver of the Year
  • Most Improved Driver of the Year
  • Extra Mile
  • HGV Hero
  • Lifetime Achievement

The Microlise Driver of the Year awards (Short/Medium/Long Distance and Driver Excellence) are based solely on telematics data and nominations cannot be accepted.

Data from qualifying drivers is anonymised before any analysis is carried out. Following the data analysis, companies represented by shortlisted drivers are contacted to confirm agreement to be included and are asked to complete a short form to supply additional information. The final stage involves all remaining entries – with all information anonymised once again – reviewed by our judging panel.

For the Young Driver of the Year, Most Improved Driver of the Year, HGV Hero, Lifetime Achievement and Extra Mile categories, transport managers must nominate their drivers and complete a nomination form.

Submit Entry

Winners will be chosen either through the analysis of telematics data and manager feedback or the information provided by the nominating manager.

Our judging panel will select drivers making the final shortlists and then the final winners. All data and information will be anonymous, with all references to the driver name and company removed.

For the main Microlise Driver of the Year Award, initial data will be gathered and analysed from over 200,000 drivers engaging with Microlise telematics solutions. Further selection is then made based on drivers with at least ten journeys across each quarter of the year, in addition to a minimum of 5,000 miles total driving, before data gathered from each qualifying driver is assessed using a range of criteria, such as harsh braking, over revving and speeding.

The data is then supported by questionnaires completed by the employers of each driver on the initial shortlist, helping to provide further evidence and indicators that might contribute to a driver being named as a winner.

For the other awards, judging is initially based on submitted entries before available telematics data is analysed where appropriate, and manager feedback is reviewed to support the judging process.

Microlise engaged with The University of Nottingham’s Advanced Data Analysis Centre to study the data anonymously (with company, contract and driver information removed), in order to identify the best performing drivers in each of three categories: short, medium and long distance, which were determined following advanced data clustering techniques.

In addition to the kudos and recognition of  both being nominated and winning an award, all shortlisted drivers will be invited to attend an exhilarating Porsche Experience Driving Day, held at the iconic Silverstone race track.

All drivers in the final short-list will also be invited to the VIP Awards dinner which will be held at the Ricoh Arena on the evening of 15th May.

An unbiased panel of industry experts have been appointed to review the information anonymously and decide the final short-list and overall winners for each category.

These judges currently include:

Bob Harbey – Executive Director, Microlise
James Hookham – Deputy Chief Executive, Freight Transport Association
Richard Burnett – CEO, Road Haulage Association
Steve Hobson – Editor, Motor Transport
Sharon Clancy – Editor, Motion Magazine

The overall winner of the Microlise Driver of the Year Awards will be presented with their award during the Microlise Transport Conference, on stage, in front of more than 1,200 industry peers.

Winners of all of the categories will be invited to a special awards evening on the evening preceding the Microlise Transport Conference, on 15th May 2018, at the Ricoh Arena, in Coventry.